THE WORLD IS NOT STANDING STILL.RSS
BIG CHANGE.

Markdown edition

# Waymo closes $5 billion loan as it expands robotaxi service

> Waymo says its first debt financing adds flexibility alongside a separate $16 billion equity round. The company has not disclosed detailed loan terms or a city-by-city service schedule.

By BIG CHANGE Editorial

Published: 2026-10-08T18:17:52.498Z
Updated: 2026-10-08T18:17:52.498Z
Canonical: https://bigchange.ai/blog/waymo-5-billion-debt-financing-robotaxi-expansion

![Conceptual charcoal illustration of an unbranded white passenger vehicle with a roof sensor parked beside a curb on an anonymous street.](https://bigchange.ai/api/media/file/waymo-debt-robotaxi-concept-hero-v1.png)
An unbranded vehicle illustrates the robotaxi business behind Waymo’s new financing; it does not depict a verified Waymo car or service launch. AI-generated conceptual illustration by BIG CHANGE.

The first debt raise adds to a separate $16 billion equity round. Waymo has not disclosed the loan’s detailed terms or tied the financing to a city-by-city service schedule.

Waymo has closed a $5 billion term loan, giving the robotaxi operator a new source of financing as it expands its commercial service. In its [October 8 announcement](https://community.waymo.com/blog/2026/10/waymo-closes-5-billion-debt-financing/), the company described the borrowing as its first debt financing and said it would support continued expansion in the United States and internationally.

The announcement follows a separate [$16 billion equity investment round](https://waymo.com/blog/2026/02/waymo-raises-usd16-billion-investment-round/) Waymo closed earlier this year. Equity investors buy an ownership stake. A borrower must repay debt under its loan terms. Waymo says it is adding debt to its equity financing to give the business more financial flexibility.

The borrowing adds debt alongside Waymo’s equity financing. The public announcement does not state the loan’s interest rate, maturity, collateral, covenants or restrictions on how the proceeds can be used. It also gives no standalone revenue, cash-flow or profitability figures for Waymo, so readers cannot assess the cost of the borrowing or whether service operations can fund expansion over time.

## What the financing announcement establishes

Waymo’s October 8 post confirms the loan closed. CFO Steve Fieler said PIMCO, Blackstone and Sixth Street participated as lead syndicated lenders. Capital Group, Loomis Sayles and T. Rowe Price were described as significant lenders. Waymo also named Apollo, Blue Owl, Diameter Capital Partners, Franklin Templeton, Fidelity Management & Research Company, HPS Investment Partners and Oaktree as additional lenders. Goldman Sachs was the sole lead bookrunner.

Reuters independently [reported the close and lead lenders on October 8](https://www.investing.com/news/stock-market-news/alphabets-waymo-secures-5-billion-term-loan-to-accelerate-expansion-4939362). Its report corroborates the company’s account of the announced amount and participants, but neither source provides the loan agreement or its detailed financial terms.

Waymo’s earlier equity round was announced in February as a $16 billion investment at a $126 billion post-money valuation. That round was led by Dragoneer Investment Group, DST Global and Sequoia Capital, with Alphabet remaining Waymo’s majority investor, according to the company. The valuation belongs to the equity transaction; it is not a valuation produced by the new loan.

Debt can let a company raise capital without issuing additional ownership shares in that financing. It also creates repayment obligations. Without the loan documents or financial statements showing how the debt fits into Waymo’s accounts, outside readers cannot calculate the cost, repayment schedule or effect on the company’s finances. Waymo described the borrowing as a way to strengthen its balance sheet and capitalize on opportunities, but those are the company’s stated purposes, not independently measured outcomes.

## Financing is separate from service availability

Waymo said it launched service in its fifteenth U.S. city the previous month and had announced new international cities. The company began welcoming public riders in [Denver, San Diego and Tampa on September 1](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/ride-in-denver-san-diego-tampa/), and in [Las Vegas on September 14](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/ride-in-las-vegas/). Its [Tokyo announcement](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/opening-tokyo-in-2027-with-nihon-kotsu-go/) describes a planned 2027 commercial launch, contingent on regulatory approval and further validation. Its [Singapore announcement](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/waymo-in-singapore/) describes a planned 2028 service in partnership with local agencies.

The financing does not identify any new service area. A loan supplies capital; it does not grant permits, open a service area or establish when public rides will begin. Waymo’s October 8 statement does not tie the $5 billion to a particular city or provide a market-by-market deployment schedule.

For riders, the announcement says Waymo has financing to support continued growth; local availability still depends on separate launch decisions and approvals. Transportation agencies and investors will need operating milestones and disclosed financial terms to assess how that growth is progressing. The loan announcement does not establish profitability, unit economics or a change in the safety performance of the Waymo Driver.

## Sources & further reading

- [Waymo CFO Steve Fieler’s October 8 announcement](https://community.waymo.com/blog/2026/10/waymo-closes-5-billion-debt-financing/) gives the company’s account of the closed loan, lenders, prior equity round and stated purpose.
- [Reuters’ October 8 report](https://www.investing.com/news/stock-market-news/alphabets-waymo-secures-5-billion-term-loan-to-accelerate-expansion-4939362) independently reports that the loan closed and summarizes Waymo’s expansion context.
- [Waymo’s February $16 billion equity-round announcement](https://waymo.com/blog/2026/02/waymo-raises-usd16-billion-investment-round/) explains the separate equity financing and its stated valuation.
- [Waymo’s September 1 rider announcement](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/ride-in-denver-san-diego-tampa/) and [September 14 Las Vegas announcement](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/ride-in-las-vegas/) document recent U.S. service openings.
- [Waymo’s Tokyo plan](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/opening-tokyo-in-2027-with-nihon-kotsu-go/) and [Singapore announcement](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/waymo-in-singapore/) describe planned international services and their stated conditions or timing.

## The big change

Waymo’s public financing now includes its first disclosed debt raise, alongside the $16 billion equity round announced earlier this year. The company says the loan adds flexibility for expansion; its terms and any city-by-city deployment schedule remain undisclosed.

## Sources

- [Waymo Closes $5 Billion Debt Financing to Accelerate Business Expansion](https://community.waymo.com/blog/2026/10/waymo-closes-5-billion-debt-financing/) — Waymo CFO's announcement establishes the company's account of the closed term loan, lender roles and stated purpose; expansion, safety and flexibility claims remain attributed.
- [Alphabet's Waymo secures $5 billion term loan to accelerate expansion](https://www.investing.com/news/stock-market-news/alphabets-waymo-secures-5-billion-term-loan-to-accelerate-expansion-4939362) — Reuters independently reports the close and lender roles; it does not disclose or audit the private loan agreement.
- [Accelerating our global growth: Waymo raises $16 billion investment round](https://waymo.com/blog/2026/02/waymo-raises-usd16-billion-investment-round/) — Primary source for the separate equity round and its stated post-money valuation.
- [Welcoming our first riders in Denver, San Diego, and Tampa](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/ride-in-denver-san-diego-tampa/) — Primary source for public rider access beginning in these cities and Waymo's city-count context.
- [Vegas, Deal Us In! We're welcoming riders today](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/ride-in-las-vegas/) — Primary source for public rider access beginning in Las Vegas.
- [Opening our doors to Tokyo riders in 2027 with Nihon Kotsu and GO](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/opening-tokyo-in-2027-with-nihon-kotsu-go/) — Primary source for the conditional planned 2027 Tokyo commercial launch.
- [Singapore, Next Stop: Bringing Scalable, Safe Autonomous Mobility to the Lion City](https://blog.waymo.com/blog/2026/09/waymo-in-singapore/) — Primary source for the planned 2028 service and local-government collaboration.